On April 6 April 2002 an unusual event took place in Adaminaby. A unique collection of machinery and vehicles, that had been used to run an earth-moving business by the Kennedy brothers (Max and the late Cliff Kennedy), was offered at auction. Fascinating from an historical perspective was that many of the machines and vehicles had been used for the construction of the Snowy scheme.

Max and Cliff Kennedy were contractors on the Scheme, purchasing some of the machinery and vehicles to support their locally based operation after 1974. Interested people came from all over Australia to form part of the 2000 strong crowd, with 600 registered bidders attending the auction. The event drew media attention and was featured on the ABC's 7.30 Report.

A month prior to the auction, a group of local residents formed a committee with the aim of retaining as much as possible of this history in Adaminaby. Frantic activity before the auction saw the committee raise $40,000 from interested individuals and organisations, which allowed the purchase of eight of the ten items identified as the most historically important. These eight items were the beginning of a unique collection and the formation of an association known as the Adaminaby Snowy Scheme Collection. The idea for a museum was born.


Established in March 2002, the association of the Adaminaby Snowy Scheme Collection was incorporated in October 2003. The Museum is managed by an elected seven person committee in accordance with the provisions of the Association's constitution. The office bearers of the Association are the President, the Vice-President, the Treasurer and the Secretary.

Nomination of a person for membership of the Association must be made by an existing member, in writing, on the application form provided at Appendix 1 to the Association's constitution. A nomination for membership is referred to the management committee by the Secretary. The committee determines whether to accept or reject the nomination. The names of members are recorded in a register and an annual subscription is payable by each member at the Annual General Meeting of the Association.